Skip to content
Rotherham Counts — Rotherham, in numbers.Local help →

Rotherham, in numbers

People and living standards

Rotherham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rotherham council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 253,674 in 1991 to 279,161 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rotherham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 250,888 people in 1996; 279,161 people in 2025. 11.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rotherham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991253,674
1992253,348
1993253,446
1994252,946
1995251,891
1996250,888
1997250,127
1998249,029
1999247,949
2000247,010
2001248,349
2002249,610
2003250,886
2004251,722
2005252,675
2006253,638
2007254,180
2008255,271
2009256,313
2010256,893
2011257,716
2012258,710
2013259,391
2014261,391
2015262,063
2016263,273
2017264,167
2018265,154
2019265,991
2020265,593
2021266,173
2022268,599
2023272,516
2024276,332
2025279,161
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rotherham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,885 people in 1996; 52,277 people in 2025. 3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rotherham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199153,480
199253,782
199354,248
199454,627
199554,261
199653,885
199753,581
199853,048
199952,795
200052,369
200152,195
200251,794
200351,568
200451,185
200550,749
200650,394
200749,939
200849,790
200949,638
201049,366
201149,377
201249,540
201349,586
201450,137
201550,029
201650,166
201750,613
201850,771
201950,885
202050,468
202150,204
202250,746
202351,662
202452,289
202552,277
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rotherham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 159,134 people in 1996; 171,437 people in 2025. 7.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rotherham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991163,062
1992162,157
1993161,570
1994160,699
1995159,789
1996159,134
1997158,580
1998157,926
1999157,109
2000156,374
2001157,412
2002158,528
2003159,378
2004160,192
2005161,123
2006162,140
2007162,638
2008163,304
2009163,629
2010163,298
2011163,209
2012162,592
2013162,085
2014162,398
2015162,523
2016162,822
2017162,808
2018162,983
2019163,123
2020163,044
2021163,418
2022164,880
2023167,132
2024169,557
2025171,437
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rotherham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 37,869 people in 1996; 55,447 people in 2025. 46.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rotherham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199137,132
199237,409
199337,628
199437,620
199537,841
199637,869
199737,966
199838,055
199938,045
200038,267
200138,742
200239,288
200339,940
200440,345
200540,803
200641,104
200741,603
200842,177
200943,046
201044,229
201145,130
201246,578
201347,720
201448,856
201549,511
201650,285
201750,746
201851,400
201951,983
202052,081
202152,551
202252,973
202353,722
202454,486
202555,447
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 265,806 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rotherham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,1765.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,0161.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,8541.4%
White241,95491%
Other ethnic group2,8061.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 257,280 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rotherham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White240,75893.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,5511%
Asian/Asian British10,5514.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,1120.8%
Other ethnic group1,3080.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 248,175 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rotherham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White240,46396.9%
Mixed1,2100.5%
Asian/Asian British5,5302.2%
Black/Black British4000.2%
Chinese/Other5720.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 21.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rotherham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,459 per person in 1997; £20,481 per person in 2024. 142.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rotherham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,459
19988,631
19999,169
20009,709
200110,052
200210,248
200310,649
200410,927
200511,269
200611,676
200712,252
200812,332
200912,681
201012,917
201113,209
201213,697
201314,165
201414,610
201515,175
201615,305
201715,874
201816,162
201916,451
202016,781
202117,134
202218,085
202319,399
202420,481
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rotherham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -20.3% in 1997; -21.1% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rotherham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-20.3
1998-20.3
1999-18.9
2000-18.4
2001-18.7
2002-19
2003-18.3
2004-19.5
2005-19.8
2006-20.3
2007-20.2
2008-21.7
2009-20.8
2010-20
2011-18.9
2012-18.9
2013-19.1
2014-19.2
2015-20.2
2016-20.5
2017-19.4
2018-20.8
2019-21.9
2020-20.1
2021-21.6
2022-21.2
2023-20.7
2024-21.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.6%

21 March 2021 · Rotherham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.5%

21 March 2021 · Rotherham council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.4%

21 March 2021 · Rotherham council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7%

21 March 2021 · Rotherham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£191,000

July 2026 · Rotherham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£686

August 2026 · Rotherham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.